Awards Banquet of the American Association for Agricultural Educators Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis, Humphrey Ballroom 5:45 pm, Friday, May18, 2007

President Jacque Deeds recognized Monte Ladner, President of the National FFA Alumni.

Members introduced their spouses.

Gary Moore presented the invocation, followed by dinner.

James Smith requested a moment of silence in honor of the Virginia Tech University shooting victims and their families. Bill Camp lit a candle in memoriam while joined by all members present who had studied or worked at Virginia Tech.

The following memorials were presented: Don Herring presented the memorial for Nolan Arthur (September 28, 2006)

Stacy Vincent presented the memorial for Eldon Heathcott (September 11, 2006)

Jim Flowers presented the memorial for Textron R. "Tex" Miller (May27, 2006)

Cary Trexler presented the memorial for Orville Thompson (October 6, 2006)

The following 2007 Outstanding Poster Awards were presented by Jackie Bruce: Innovative Posters

2nd Runner-up: *Competitive Professional Development: Everyone Wins!* Travis Park, Terry Hughes, et al, Cornell University

1st Runner-up: *Student Teacher Data Collection System*, Jason Peak, Brian Parr, Dennis Duncan and John Ricketts, University of Georgia

Outstanding Innovative Poster: *Growing a Nation: The Story of American Agriculture*, Debra Spielmaker, Utah State University

Research Posters

2nd Runner-Up: *Rural Students' Level of Interest and Intentions to Pursue Careers in Agriculture*, Levon T. Esters & Neil Knobloch, Iowa State University and University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

1st Runner-Up: *The Update and Validation of the Professional Education Competencies in Agricultural Education at the University of Arizona*, Quintin Molina, Jack Elliot, Billye Foster, Heather R. Jepsen, The University of Arizona

Outstanding Research Poster: *Middle School Agricultural Education Programs: Source of Growth or Area of Improvement*, John Rayfield & Barry Croom, North Carolina State University

The following 2007 Outstanding Research Paper Awards were presented by Grady Roberts:

2nd Runner-Up: *A Grounded Theory Description of Novice Urban Agriculture Teachers Career Experiences*, Wendy Warner, California Polytechnic State University, and Shannon G. Washburn, University of Florida

1st Runner-Up: *I Believe in the Future of Agriculture: Historical Perspectives of the FFA Creed*, James J. Connors & Jonathan Velez, The Ohio State University

Outstanding Research Paper: Effects of a Math-Enhanced Curriculum and Instructional Approach on Students' Need for Post-secondary Remediation in Mathematics: A Yearlong Experimental Study in Agricultural Power and Technology, R. Brent Young, North Dakota State University, M. Craig Edwards & James G. Leising, Oklahoma State University

The Following Journal of Agricultural Education Author of the Year Awards were presented by Greg Miller:

2nd Runner-Up: *Teaching Leadership in Agricultural Science: Behavioral Factors That Influence Secondary Agricultural Science Leadership Instruction* A. Christian Morgan and Rick D. Rudd

1st Runner-Up: *Effects of Investigative Laboratory Instruction on Content Knowledge and Science Process Skill Achievement Across Learning Styles*, Brian E. Myers and James E. Dyer

Outstanding Article: Effects of a Math-Enhanced Curriculum and Instructional Approach on the Mathematics Achievement of Agricultural Power and Technology Students: An Experimental Study, Brian A. Parr, M. Craig Edwards, James G. Leising

Lloyd Bell presented the Outstanding Early Career Member Award to D. Dwayne Cartmell, Oklahoma State University

Brian Parr presented the Alan Kahler Outstanding Dissertation Award to R. Brent Young, North Dakota State University, for his dissertation titled: *Effects of Math-Enhanced Curriculum and Instructional Approach on the Performance of Secondary Education Students Enrolled in a Year-Long Agricultural Power and Technology Course: An Experimental Study*

Greg Thompson presented the Outstanding Agricultural Educator Award to Edward W. Osborne, University of Florida

Bill Camp presented the AAAE Fellow Award to the following three individuals:

Donald R. Herring, University of Arkansas Edward W. Osborne, University of Florida Walter N. Taylor, Mississippi State University

Retiring President Jacque Deeds passed the gavel to President Elect James Smith

James Smith presented the retiring President plaque to Jacque Deeds Jim Dyer presented a plaque to Bill Camp recognizing his three years of service to The Council

President James Smith shared his three goals for his year of service:

- 1. To increase AAAE membership. One strategy would be to create an award for Departments with 100% Faculty membership in AAAE
- 2. To increase collaboration among AAAE members
- 3. To increase partnerships between AAAE and industry. One strategy would be to create an award for Innovative Partnership and Collaboration

President Smith announced the Board of Directors meeting to begin at 8:00 pm and the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Shannon Washburn